The uniform strength of the Force at Mar. 31, 1962 was 6,461, including Marine Constables and Special Constables, at which time it maintained some 1,762 motor vehicles, 18 aircraft, 71 ships and boats, 221 sleigh dogs, 25 police service dogs and 241 horses.

## Subsection 2.—Provincial Police Forces

Quebec Provincial Police Force.—The Quebec Provincial Police Force is responsible for the maintenance of peace, order and public safety in the province, and for the prevention and investigation of criminal offences and of violation of the laws of the province.

The province is divided into two almost equal parts known as the Montreal Division and the Quebec Division. Each division is in turn subdivided into two sections comprising a variable number of detachments. There are 103 detachments throughout the province.

The Quebec Provincial Police Force is under the command of a Director General who is assisted by an officer holding the rank of Deputy Director General. Each division is headed by an Assistant Director. A commissioned officer is in command of each subdivision. The strength of the Force at the end of 1962 was 1,582 regular members.

Ontario Provincial Police Force.—The Ontario Provincial Police Force is administered by the Commissioner who has the rank and status of a deputy minister under the Attorney General. Its jurisdiction for law enforcement extends generally to all parts of Ontario outside of substantial urban areas.

With a total complement of about 2,500 (at present being increased), the Force has General Headquarters at Toronto, with 17 District Headquarters located at Chatham, London, Burlington, Niagara Falls, Toronto, Mount Forest, Barrie, Peterborough, Belleville, Perth, Long Sault, North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie, Timmins, Port Arthur and Kenora. District Headquarters operates through local detachments numbering 235 throughout the province.

In the plan of reorganization established in 1963, under a Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner, the Force has five administrative divisions—Administration, Staff Services, Special Services, Field, and Traffic—under Assistant Commissioners. Special Services branches operating out of General Headquarters include Criminal Investigation, Liquor Control, Anti-Highgrade, Anti-Gambling, and Anti-Rackets.

The Force operates one of the largest frequency-modulation radio networks in the world, with 74 fixed stations and 724 radio-equipped mobile units, including 687 motorcars, 30 motorcycles and seven mobile marine units.

History relates that in July 1875 John Wilson Murray was appointed to act as "Detective for the Provincial Government of Ontario" to pursue criminals and "run them down" in their havens of refuge. Murray performed his varied duties under the direction of Sir Oliver Mowat, the Attorney General of the province. At the time of Confederation and the first session of the first Parliament of Ontario in December 1867, there were a number of rural or provincial police. These officers were unpaid and if any remuneration was received for their services it was derived through the fee system. In 1877 a major reform occurred when, under the Constables Act (RSO 1877, c. 72), the necessity for giving certain constables jurisdiction throughout the province was recognized. County judges were authorized to allocate provincial constables to every county and district in Ontario.

Later, the opening up of the mining areas in the north of the province and the accompanying lawlessness brought to the fore the realization that more adequate law enforcement measures were a necessity. Consequently, an Order in Council dated Oct. 13, 1909 (confirmed by 10 Edw. VII, c. 39) was passed providing for the establishment of the Ontario Provincial Police Force, to be composed of a Superintendent and such inspectors and constables as were deemed necessary. The officers were stationed throughout the northern portion of the province and at all border points in southern Ontario. The Force was